Cart is empty

Brief Information

The NAWA Scholarship Program aims to enhance the socio-economic progress of developing countries by providing scholarships for second-degree studies in various fields at Polish universities. The program, supervised by the Minister of Education and Science, focuses on engineering, technical sciences, agricultural sciences, exact sciences, and life sciences. Eligible countries include Albania, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, and others. In certain countries, candidates can pursue studies in humanities and social sciences. The initiative is a collaboration between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Polish National Agency for Academic Exchange, merging existing scholarship programs for young individuals from developing nations interested in studying in Poland.

The programme offers:

  1. monthly scholarship of the Agency Director, during the statutory period of education,
  2. exemption from fees for education at public universities.

Financial conditions of education at private universities supervised by the Minister of Education and Science are determined by the universities. In such cases, the issue of payment for studies should be agreed individually between the Scholarship Holder and the private university hosting them. The matter of exemptions from education fees remains within the competence of the private university hosting the student.

The scholarship is paid during the statutory period of education for a maximum of 12 months in the academic year, starting from the first month of studies.

The scholarship amounts to PLN 1,500 per month during second-cycle studies.

During their studies, scholarship holders also receive:

  1. the first monthly scholarship will be increased by a mobility allowance in the amount of PLN 1,000 or PLN 3,000 (the amount depends on the country of arrival – detailed information can be found in Appendix 4)[3].
  2. in the last year of studies, the last monthly scholarship increased by PLN 500.

In the event of a documented fortuitous event, the Agency Director may, at the written request of the Scholarship Holder, increase the scholarship paid once by PLN 500.

The Agency Director’s scholarship is paid through the university where the Scholarship Holder is studying.

Application for the Banach Scholarship Program will be open in 2024.

Eligibility Criteria for Scholarship Application:

  1. Applicants must be citizens of specific countries including Albania, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Colombia, Ethiopia, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Lebanon, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Palestine, Peru, Philippines, Senegal, Serbia, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam;

  2. Applicants should not have Polish citizenship or have applied for Polish citizenship.

  3. They must have commenced their second-cycle studies in the winter semester of the academic year 2023/24, being first-year, first-semester students at a Polish university.

  4. At the time of application, candidates should possess a first-cycle diploma obtained in Poland or the Programme country in the specified fields, dated no earlier than 2021. For candidates from Europe, Central Asia, and the South Caucasus, first-cycle diplomas in social sciences and humanities are accepted if obtained in Poland or the Programme country, dated no earlier than 2021.

  5. Applicants should not have previously obtained a diploma for completion of second-cycle studies or uniform master’s studies. However, candidates from countries without a common two-cycle study system are eligible if they hold a master’s degree or equivalent.
Shopping Basket